• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

Learn Punjabi Translations: How Reliable

kds1980

SPNer
Apr 3, 2005
INDIA
translation of gurbani is quite difficuilt.If some wants too deeply understand punjabi then he should learn gurmukhi

Oct 14, 2007
Sachkhand
Hi Kds ji,
You are right that English translations are handy, but some of them are almost incorrect.There is always a doubt about the correctness .You may kindly look into the following.
Here again 'sabad; has been translated into 'word of the Shabad',it is incorrect. Whenever I read 'word of shabad' I presume that the meaning is that 'sabad' that was uttered by HIM at the time of creation. It is only oflate that I had to refer to the teeka of Dr Sahib Singh ji that this confusion was removed.
kindly go thru. the following and the corresponding translation/commentary of Dr. Sahib singh ji. Matter has been amplified by Sahib Singh ji and looks perfectly ok, though I am not an expert in the field but do have some working knowledge of Gurmukhi.

gur qy sbid imlwvw hoie ]2] (158-6, gauVI guAwryrI, mÚ 3)
Through the Guru, we are absorbed in the Word of the Shabad. ||2||

TRanslation By Sahib Singh ji.

jy gurU iml pey qW (mnu`K Awpxy AMdroN) iqRSnw dI A`g buJw lYNdw hY, gurU dI rwhIN hI (mnu`K dy) mn ivc SWqI Aw v`sdI hY, gurU pwsoN hI Awqmk pivqRqw Awqmk su`c imldI hY [ gurU dI rwhIN hI gurU dy Sbd ivc juV ky prmwqmw nwl imlwp huMdw hY [2[

===================================
The translations of Dr. Sahib ji are not translations as well.These are commentaries as well.
Cannot we make a request to SGPC to have a look into the matter and issue/release some published material in gurmukhi so that there is some reliability?.