• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

Just Starting My Journey. Any Suggestions?

JamesN

SPNer
Feb 23, 2010
Shreveport, La.
I am brand new to Sikhism. After many years of disillusionment with religion, I gave up. It seemed like I could not find what satisfied my natural curious longing for the truth. I stumbled upon Sikhism while fumbling through some youtube videos. I found it strange to see images of both men and women in turbans and thought to myself, "they must be muslim". After I watched the video and found out the name of the religion was not Islam, but Sikhism, I wanted to learn more.
I was floored to find the same views I had about God in Sikhism. But, I couldn't wrap my arms around this turban-thing because being raised in the United States, individuals were taught to believe all people who wear turbans are terrorist. As I started researching more into Sikhism, I found myself relating more and more.
I believe in the concept of samsara, and believe that our actions in this life determine what will happen in the next life to come. I found that the turban issue was starting to become less of a 900 pound gorilla and more of a symbol of obedience and piety to the God.
I have a lot to learn, but am enjoying every bit of information I get my hands on. My job is as a truck driver here in the United States and it delights me to see Sikh men who are drivers themselves. I am a bit shy and dont know what to say to the , but would love to meet them and ask question??
What should I do and how do I approach a Sikh? Thanks for any suggestions and comments.

Feb 19, 2007
Delhi India
JamesN ji,