• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

What is caste based on?

jdeepkaur

SPNer
Oct 18, 2022
Sat Sri Akal!

I am very new to this caste system as my parents never talked about it with us. But lately, I have been quite curious to know about my culture, etc., so this brings me to my question:

If a family has a history of landowning/farming and business construction owning for at least 2-3 generations (e.g, grandparents, great grandparents, etc..), just because their surname is a Tarkhan name. Does that make their caste Tarkhan or is it based on occupation?

It is just for informational purposes, everyone is equal~

Thank you ji!

swarn bains

Poet
SPNer
Apr 8, 2012
when arians came to indeia. they had to fight in order to live in india. Manu made a system by which he divided their people in four classes. braham who will be educated and preach and manage, khatri who will fight, veish who will far to earn to live on shudra who will serve the other three classes. later on it became the caste system ad it continues till now, although the functions have changed but the names remain the same

A_seeker

Writer
SPNer
Jun 6, 2018
when arians came to indeia. they had to fight in order to live in india.
You mean to refer Aryan Invasion Theory(AIT) .Just for the fact , AIT has already been debunked and discredited by modern science. Only Left Historians still cling to it..
Swami Vivekananda was the first person to protest against the false AIT .

Dr Ambedkar in his book "Who were the Shudras" debunks AIT too.
Manu made a system by which he divided their people in four classes

There were many Smritis written which were for different kal,yuga & societies , this particular pinpoint to Manusimirti (thanks to British ) is because of one dimensional understanding of Indic Civilization..

A_seeker

Writer
SPNer
Jun 6, 2018