• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

Vegan Pumpkin Pie

Inderjeet Kaur

Writer
SPNer
Oct 13, 2011
Seattle, Washington, USA
I don't usually publish my personal recipes; I am a very idiosyncratic cook and don't want to be sued by someone getting indigestion. However, finding a decent recipe for vegan pumpkin pie seems nearly impossible and I really like this one. If you're chicken or feeding this to kids, you can leave out the cayenne, but you'll be missing the very essence of what this pie should be.

Making fresh pumpkin puree is a royal pain, but worth the time and trouble if you feel so inclined. I used to do that in the days when my whole body functioned and the arthritis was in the future. Now I use the canned stuff. If you are up to making your own, the recipe at http://chefinyou.com/2009/10/pumpkin-puree-recipe looks OK. If you do this, be sure to get as much water out of it as you can, as it tends to be a bit runny.

Most people insist on adding salt. I'm not sure why, but you can add a dash of it, if you feel the need.

About the tofu. Please try to use organic, as genetically modified soy is an excellent product to run - don't walk - away from. Tofu tends to make the pie runny, so I suggest you press it for about an hour. Cut the tofu lengthwise into 3 or 4 slabs. Place these on a kitchen towel, then either fold it over the top or place a second towel on top of the it. Put something flat - I use a cutting board - and big enough to cover the tofu on top of the towel and weight it down. You can use canned goods, books or even a pan of water, whatever you have handy. I suppose you could use paper towels instead of the kitchen towel, but that's wasteful and I don't like wastefulness.

Now you've done all the hard work, so gather your ingredients and get going.