• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

Scientific Error In The GGS

Amardeep

SPNer
Feb 12, 2006
Sath shri Akal

i am very interessted in science as i am a science student, and as the GGS contains correct scientefic theories , it has made me hunger more for the GGS ...

but today i read this.

Page 396, Line 4
ਦਸੀ ਮਾਸੀ ਹੁਕਮਿ ਬਾਲਕ ਜਨਮੁ ਲੀਆ ॥
दसी मासी हुकमि बालक जनमु लीआ ॥
dasee maasee hukam baalak janam lee-aa.
In the tenth month, by the Lord's Order, the baby has been born.
Guru Arjan Dev

modern science says that babies are born after 9 months..

isent this a error then in the GGS?

Last edited by a moderator:
May 16, 2005
Vernon, BC Canada
Amardeep said:
Page 396, Line 4
Guru Arjan Dev

Close enough though Amardeep, and besides, at the time the SGGs was written, there was probably baby's being born on the 10 month, it could possibly even be the ideal time anyways.

I don't think it's a good idea to point out or put the guru under scrutiny like this.

Just a suggestion. :)

drkhalsa

SPNer
Sep 16, 2004
Amardeep said:
Sath shri Akal

i am very interessted in science as i am a science student, and as the GGS contains correct scientefic theories , it has made me hunger more for the GGS ...

but today i read this.

Page 396, Line 4
Guru Arjan Dev

Dear Brother Amardeep ji

First I would like to deal with your query about the Birth of child

Normal gestation period of Human is 280 days in case of normal pregnancy which exactly comes out to be 9 months and 7 days

And it means that child should always be born in the 10 month ( after completion of 9 month)

I hope this would solve your query

Now dear brother I would like to advise you with help pf my little brain and understanding given by the Akal
that Gurbani is not meant to be taken as literal wriring which you keep on trying and testing with scientific beleifs instead the mesage given should be contemplated