• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

Sikhism Ready For Turban

Luckysingh

Writer
SPNer
Dec 3, 2011
Vancouver
I've been growing my hair for over 16 months now and it's pretty long.
Over the last few months I've had it in a pony just to keep it a little neat.
I never actually planned this or anything but I just came to a point where I felt like I didn't want to cut my hair.

This is all in line with my increased spirituality. Since feeling more spiritual and more aware as well as more detached from my gadgets and belongings (I no longer carry a cell phone, wear a watch or worry about my guccis and versaces!!)
I automatically felt more attached to my hair- Don't get me wrong, I have always been attached to cool looks and cool hairstyles and was always known for my trendy hairdo's. But now, it's a different kind of love, it's like an essential limb to me now.

As I have had my hair in a pony and look more like a gangster, I have also been growing my beard. However, this has resulted in getting bad looks of anger and disrespect from fellow sikhs sometimes.
I can tell they see me and think that I'm one of those turbaned sikhs who has cut his hair and is tying it in a ponytail. I sense their tongues tutting and a no no shake of their heads.

Anway, I have been waiting for my hair to be the right length so that I can do a jurrha and now I can manage a small kiddie one.
This weekend, I went and bought my 1st turban- a black full voile and also a small patka of the same material. I had told the merchant who had a turban himself, that it was my first and I'm learning- he recommended that material.

I have been trying for the last few days but I just can't get the neatness.
I have watched many videos on you tube and they make me feel confident, but then it comes to the final choice.
I just can't decide wether to start wearing a patka and then slowly introduce the bigger turban.