• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

Marriage Between Gora Sikh (Male) And Punjabi Sikh (Female)

gorasikh

SPNer
May 27, 2011
Sat Sri Akal!
I really appreciate the chance to get some advice and guidance from my Sikhi brothers/ sisters!
I have read about inter-faith and intercast marriage and have gained some understanding - my situation however is different and I have very few people to talk to. There is alot of detail to this but I will be as brief as i can describing the most pertinent points.

The Background:
I am a 26 year old lawyer, I started learning about sikhism through work colleagues and my own studies (sikhphilosophy included :). have considered myself a sikh for 1.5 years and I am very happy with the path I am on. I have known this girl for a very long time though as friends, and for about a year we have become very close. We actively share our faith and do some great simran together, we have strong shared morals and future plans. I know I want to marry this Kaur and Know she feels the same. It is sometimes difficult to see each other as her family like to keep tabs on her, but I accept that and actively try not to make life difficult for her.

Some detail:
I have met her Mother on several occasions at Gurdwara and its been great, she is very sweet and has been sending me gifts. I was worried what the future would hold for us, so i phoned her and said "with an open heart I believe i have found my soul-partner in your daughter and i will always honour her" she said that we will talk about it in more detail later - this was a few months ago (quite encouraging I thought: although father does not know)

Present time: