Welcome to SPN

Register and Join the most happening forum of Sikh community & intellectuals from around the world.

Sign Up Now!

Ever Wondered What Message Does 31 Raags Of Sri Guru Granth Sahib Convey ?

Discussion in 'Gurmat Learning Zone' started by drkhalsa, Oct 6, 2005.

  1. drkhalsa

    Expand Collapse

    Sep 16, 2004
    Likes Received:
    Here is what i found in one of the forum so thought of sharing with you on spn

    Raag conveys a feeling and Shabad a message. A raag is capable of touching the heart with feelings like joy, sorrow, detachment (as selina ji said before). Music (Raag) is based on sound (swar - notes) and a combination of notes produce distinct musical effects. Therefore, when Gurbani is complemented with raag (music) and bound by ghar (beat), the resulting effect on mind and body can become the catalyst for change. Upon studying the structure of Guru Granth Sahib it can be seen that Shabads relating to common themes are generally placed under each raag.

    Common Themes of Shabads placed under Raags of Guru Granth Sahib
    1. Soohi - Being away from home. The soul being away from the House of Lord and the joy of meeting the true husband.
    2. Bilaaval - beautification of soul, happiness.
    3. Gaund - Separation, union, surprise.
    4. Sri - Maya and detachment
    5. Maajh - yearning to merge with Lord, giving up of negative values.
    6. Gauri - Principles, serious, thoughtfulness, composed
    7. Aasa - Hope
    8. Gujri - Prayer (Pooja)
    9. Devgandhari - Merging with spouse, self - realization
    10. Bihaagra - Yearning due to separation of soul and happiness due to meeting the Lord.
    11. Sorath - Merits of God
    12. Dhanasari - Mixed theme
    13. Jaitsree - Stability
    14. Todi - Maya, separation
    15. Bairagi - motivation to sing praises of Lord
    16. Tilang - many words from the vocabulary of Islamic origins are used, sadness, beautification.
    17. Raamkali - to give up the life of a wandering Jogi.
    18. Nat Narayan - Joy of meeting the Lord
    19. Maali Gaura - Happiness
    20. Maaru - Bravery
    21. Tukhari - Separation and union with Lord
    22. Kedara - Love
    23. Bhairav - Man's state of hell
    24. Basant - Happiness
    25. Sarang - Thirst to meet God
    26. Malaar - State of separated and united soul
    27. Jaijawanti - Vairaag (Detachment)
    28. Kalyaan - Bhakti (Prayer) Ras
    29. Vadhans - Vairaag (Detachment)
    30. Parbhati - Bhakti (Prayer)
    31. Kaanra - Bhakti (Prayer)

    Feelings communicated by the music of Raags
    1. Soohi - joy and separation
    2. Bilaaval - happiness
    3. Gaund - strangeness, surprise, beauty
    4. Sri - satisfaction and balance
    5. Maajh - loss, beautification
    6. Gauri - seriousness
    7. Aasa - making effort
    8. Gujri - satisfaction, softness of heart, sadness
    9. Devgandhari - no specific feeling but the Raag has a softness
    10. Bihaagra - beautification
    11. Sorath - motivation
    12. Dhanasari - inspiration, motivation
    13. Jaitsree - softness, satisfaction, sadness
    14, Todi - this being a flexible Raag it is apt for communicating many feelings
    15. Bhairaagi - sadness, (Gurus have, however, used it for the message of Bhakti)
    16. Tilang - this is a favourite Raag of Muslims. It denotes feeling of beautification and yearning.
    17. Raamkali - calmness
    18. Nat Narayan - happiness
    19. Maali Gaura - happiness
    20. Maaru - giving up of cowardice
    21. Tukhari - beautification
    22. Kedara - love and beautification
    23. Bhairav - seriousness, brings stability of mind
    24. Basant - happiness
    25. Sarang - sadness
    26. Malaar - separation
    27. Jaijawanti - viraag
    28. Kalyaan - Bhakti Ras
    29. Vadhans - vairaag, loss (that is why Alahniya is sung in this Raag when someone passes away)
    30. Parbhati - Bhakti and seriousness
    31. Kaanra - Bhakti and seriousness

    Gurus used raags to increase the delivery power of shabad to our mind by invoking complementary feelings in our hearts through the usage of the prescribed raags

  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads Forum Date
    Ever Wondered About Love Interfaith Dialogues Jan 26, 2006
    Ashdoc's Movie Review---Everything , Everything Theatre, Movies & Cinema May 25, 2017
    Does Life Ever Feel Completely Pointless And Meaningless? Questions & Answers May 15, 2017
    Is Everyone A Sikh? Sikh Sikhi Sikhism Dec 16, 2016
    Do You Ever Feel Completely Disconnected? Blogs Dec 7, 2016

  3. Sher Singh

    Sher Singh
    Expand Collapse

    Nov 11, 2004
    Likes Received:
    Waheguru Ji Ka Khalsa Waheguru Ji Ki Fateh!

    Wow, thanks for the post ji:) It was great! Very Informative.

    Here's an interesting article I got about Naad and Gurbani:D

    The Science of Naad and Gurbani
    As explained by Siri Singh Sahib Bhai Sahib Harbhajan Singh Khalsa Yogiji

    Naad means "the essence of all sounds". All languages contain sounds which relate to one or more of the five elements of air, fire, water, earth or ether. Gurbani is a perfect combination and permutation of sounds relating to all the five elements in complete balance. When Guru Arjan Dev, the fifth Guru Nanak, compiled the Siri Guru Granth Sahib, in 1604, he put in only those Banis which were in Naad. These compositions are called Gurbani.

    There are eighty-four meridian points on the upper palate of a human's mouth. One can feel that upper palate with the tongue and experience its different surfaces. There are two rows of meridian points on the upper palate and on the gum behind the upper teeth. The tongue stimulates those meridian points, and they in turn stimulate the hypothalamus which makes the pineal gland radiate. When the pineal gland radiates, it creates an impulsation in the pituitary gland. When the pituitary gland gives impulsation, the entire glandular system secretes and a human being obtains bliss. This is the science.

    Gurbani is the combination of the tongue with the meridian points. When you read and recite Gurbani, it stimulates your hypothalamus. It is totally different than any scriptures because Gurbani is made in a scientific way. There are two banis: "kachee bani" is that which does not fit on the Naad. It is not a balanced sound current. "Pakee bani" is that which fits on the Naad and is balanced. One who knows the Naad knows the Aad, the Primal Creativity. One who knows the Aad is Parmayshwaar, the Supreme God.

    The whole language of Gurbani has the power to make a person divine, just in its recitation, if done correctly. One need not be concerned with the meaning for a change in consciousness. Bani has to be understood by the heart, not by the head. There is no power in the head, it is in the heart. The head is for God and the heart is for you. That is why Guru Gobind Singh asked for the head, and not for the heart. Whosoever lives with the head to God and heart for self, that prayer is complete.

    The entire Siri Guru Granth Sahib is the calling of the Beloved. It is in Naad. Torah, Bible and Vedas are not in Naad because none of them felt that much pain of separation between God and the beloved."

    Hope you like it:)

    Waheguru Ji Ka Khalsa Waheguru Ji Ki Fateh:D
Since you're here... we have a small favor to ask...     Become a Supporter      ::     Make a Contribution     

Share This Page