• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

Hinduism Difference Between Sikhi And Bhakti Hinduism

May 1, 2013
Sat Sri Akal everyone,

I was recently wondering if any here can please explain to me differences between Sikhi of our Gurus and Bhakti (e.g. Kabir, Namdev, Ravidas etc...). What are philosophical differences between what Gurus taught and message of the Bhaktis? There is lot of Bhakti Bani in SGGS ji so are they very similar?

WJKK, WJKF!

Harry Haller

Panga Master
SPNer
Jan 31, 2011
Sat Sri Akal everyone,

I was recently wondering if any here can please explain to me differences between Sikhi of our Gurus and Bhakti (e.g. Kabir, Namdev, Ravidas etc...). What are philosophical differences between what Gurus taught and message of the Bhaktis? There is lot of Bhakti Bani in Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji so are they very similar?

WJKK, WJKF!

I am no expert, but I would imagine that the Bhaktis would not have made it into the SGGS unless they were consistent in message. I am sure the Gurus only included those works that agreed with Sikhi.

I imagine Kabir, Namdev and Ravidas wrote much that was not consistent, that can be found outside of the SGGS

Ambarsaria

ੴ / Ik▫oaʼnkār
Writer
SPNer
Dec 21, 2010
Sat Sri Akal everyone,

I was recently wondering if any here can please explain to me differences between Sikhi of our Gurus and Bhakti (e.g. Kabir, Namdev, Ravidas etc...). What are philosophical differences between what Gurus taught and message of the Bhaktis? There is lot of Bhakti Bani in Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji so are they very similar?

WJKK, WJKF!
Let us check the proposition.

What is common between human beings? A lot and no matter what they believe.

In terms of Bhakti-Hinduism and Sikhism let us dissect.

Bhakti-Hinduism =====> Contemplative-Hinduism