• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

Hard Talk Why Are Women Not Allowed To Perform Kirtan In Sanctum Sanctorum Of Golden Temple?

Sikhi 24/7

SPNer
Jun 17, 2004
AMRITSAR: Issue of gender equality in Sikhism has surfaced after Sikh diaspora wondered why women are not allowed to perform kirtan in sanctum sanctorum of Golden Temple.

While a few Sikh scholars have appealed to Jahtedar of Akal Takht to intervene and ensure that women are given equal rights , the others have blamed on prevailing patriarchal social system among Sikhs'. However Jathedar maintains stoic silence on the issue.

While talking to TOI on Wednesday Balvinder Kaur Saundh, Chair of Sikh women alliance, UK, said "I have been saying for past twenty years that Guru Nanak and our religion gave us equality. It is the men who have interpreted it to suit themselves to control our religious scriptures"

She said that women should be allowed to do kirtan in Golden Temple beside other sewa including giving shoulder to palki.

"All women groups should be allowed to do kirtan and take part in all the services" she said .

Saundh said generally it is said that 'women menstruate so they are unclean'. "My challenge has been that if women didn't have their monthly periods, would you men have been born? Adding that women take bath in the morning, put on clean clothes and look after their personal hygiene as men do. We are as capable as men to do kirtan sewa" she said.

UK based Sikh scholor who has done PhD in Sikh Studies, Kamalroop Singh said "Guru Nanak Dev had said why call her bad who gives birth to great people" He appealed to the Jathedar of Akal Takht Giani Gurbachan Singh to not make women 'bad' by not letting them sing the praises of Waheguru. Singh was of view that Sikh religion was founded on the concept of unity and equality. "Therefore it is totally wrong that women are not allowed to do kirtan or duties as scriptural readers at Golden Temple".