General - The Worst Evil | SIKH PHILOSOPHY NETWORK
  • Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...
    Sign up Log in

General The Worst Evil

May 27, 2007
Liberation and Five evils
As moksa or liberation from the material existence is the highest and most profound goal for the human species and as moksa is only achieved by renunciation of kama or lust and krodha or anger. For their greatest good it behoves all humans to staunchly resist these greatest enemies of the human consciousness known as kama and krodha. A person must resist these powerful impulses to wantonly enjoy and neutralise the explosive urges of anger even when they manifest, kama arising from lasciviousness for enjoyment and krodha arising from frustration in getting enjoyment. Such symptoms are characterised by agitation of the mind, callousness in demeanour and aggressive selfish behaviour. A person desiring their own best welfare must resist these two evils so detrimental to human existence. Not only for a moment but steadfastly throughout life until death one must be established in equanimity, poised, centered and content. Another interpretation is that just as one who is bereft of life is able to withstand the impulses of passion even while being embraced by a devoted wife weeping and wailing in separation and also able to resist the urge of anger while being cremated on the funeral pyre; such a person who while alive is able to likewise withstand the impulses of kama and resist the urges of krodha are alone happy and contented. The physical body after life has departed from it feels neither pleasure or pain; if one is able to get it to behave in this way when life is in it then this will lead to moksa.

Will any one opine as to the evil that is of Highest Order and can do worst harm or vice versa which one is that eveil that leads to the control of one leads to the control of any one other evil. The above write up indicates that 'Kaam' is the evil that contols krodh.
Your opinion,:D

k s gadh

Dec 26, 2006
Sat Sri Akaal,
There are five evils of human being, if we achieve a win on these five evils , like Kaam, Karodh, Loabh, Moah and Hankaar, the person will get moaksha. But really it is very difficult .
Kaam and Karodh are the most powerful evils of a person. As I believe both are not inter linked. If one can remove Kaam evil then it is not sure that he can remove karodh also. these two can shake the mind of Rishi's and Munis.
No one can say that he has removed these five evils from his inner soul. In gurbani also it is mentioned that the five enemies of the human being are Kaam , Karodh, Loabh, Moah and Hankaar. It is very difficult for the man to defeat these enemies.
we try our leve best to defeat all but after defeating one or two enemies other will disturb.
With the help of Gurbani one can defeat these enemies, for that I am 100% sure. It can time, and that differes from person to person, but we can defeat by taking the strength from Guru Ki Baani.
Sat Sri Akaal.
Jan 7, 2005
Metro-Vancouver, B.C., Canada

The Five Evils

Kaam : refers to lust and illegitimate sex. It is one of the greatest evils that tempts people away from God. It makes an individual weak-willed and unreliable. Normal sexual relationhip as a house-holder is not restricted in any way in Sikhism. But sex outside marriage or sex against the will of the partner is taboo, as it can cause unlimited sorrows.

Krodh : is anger and needs to be controlled. A person overcome by 'krodh' loses his balance of mind and becomes incapable of thinking. According to Sikhism, 'krodh' takes a person away from God as hatred has no place in religious practise.

Lobh : means greed, a strong desire to possess what rightfully belongs to others. It makes an individual selfish and self-centred. It takes a person away from his religious and social duties. A person can become blind with greed if an effort to control the desire for unlimited possessions is not made.

Moh : refers to the strong attachment that an individual has to worldly possessions and relationships. It blurs the perspective of a human being and makes him narrow minded. It deviates a person from his moral duties and responsibilities and leads him towards a path of sin.

Ahankar : means false pride due to one's possessions, material wealth, intelligence or powers. It gives an individual a feeling that he is superior to others and therefore they are at a lower level than him. It leads to jealousy, feelings of enmity and restlessness amongst people. Sikhism requires that a person serves the society and community with humility. Hence, the practise of cleaning the footwear of visitors to a Gurudwara is followed by many devout Sikhs.


Wisdom (gyan) : is the complete knowledge of a set of religious principles. It can be achieved by hearing good, thinking good and doing good. A man of wisdom tries to achieve a high moral standard in his life and interaction with others. According to Sikhism, the first steps to wisdom is to consider oneself as an ignorant person who has to learn a lot in life.

Truthful Living (sat) : This is more than 'truth'. It means living according to the way of God i.e. the thoughts should match the words that a person speaks and his actions should also match his words. Truthful living brings a person closer to God.

Justice (niaon) : means freedom and equal oppurtunities for all. Respect for the rights of others and strict absence of attempts to exploit a fellowbeing. Sikhism forbids the desire to loot anothers property. It also strictly instructs the Sikhs to show respect even for the women and children of an enemy.

Temperance (santokh) : means self control which has to be developed through meditation and prayers. A Sikh has to banish evil thoughts from his mind by constantly repeating Gods name and reciting prayers. Torture to the body to develop self-control is not advocated in Sikhism.

Patience (dhiraj) : implies a high level of tolerance and empathy for others. It requires control over ones ego and willingness to overlook anothers weakness or mistakes. It requires that a Sikh should be strongwilled, but kind hearted.

Courage (himmat) : means bravery i.e. absence of fear. It is the ability to stake ones life for ones convictions and for saving others from injustice or cruelty.

Humility (namarta) : is a deliberate denial of pleasure at one's own praise and admiration. It means underplaying ones own strengths and respecting the abilities of others. It is the antidote to 'ahankar'

Contentment (sabar) : means refraining from worldly fears and submitting oneself to the will of God. The typical worldly fears can be fear of death, poverty, disrespect and defeat. It is this virtue that has given the Sikhs the moral strength to withstand the various atrocities committed on their community in the last three centuries.
============================================================= ====================

Please review the following link too :

k s gadh

Dec 26, 2006
Veer Soul Jyot Ji , I am really very thankful to you for telling in detail about Five Evils and eight virtues to combat the five Evils.
I once again thank you on behalf of all the SPN members.
Sat Sri Akaal.


Nov 27, 2009
I believe that Kam is the worst evil, or a sin commited by a sikh. Despite knowing the fact that our Gurus said a sexual relationship is normal between 2 married couple but not without being married:yes:

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Shabad Vichaar by SPN'ers

Sat Sri Akaal,

Focus is on Shabad YOG (Connect)

The best (YOG)connect is positivity of MIND in all situation, which comes through spirtual education, as it is not the intellact, power...

SPN on Facebook