• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

Opinion Terrorists Have Darkened Islam’s Image. Sadly, Muslims Let It Happen

Jan 6, 2005
Metro-Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Terrorists have darkened Islam’s image. Sadly, Muslims let it happen

Adnan Khan
Special to The Globe and Mail

Published Wednesday, Apr. 24 2013, 11:04 AM EDT
Last updated Wednesday, Apr. 24 2013, 12:02 PM EDT

From now on, I’ve decided to wear a sign slung from my neck that reads: ADNAN R. KHAN, NON-MUSLIM.”

It’s been a decade since I wrote that line, a controversial declaration, to be sure, especially for a person of Pakistani origin who is automatically presumed to be part of the community of believers. I was a journalist working for the Western press in Turkey at the time, covering the outskirts of the Iraq war, and though I was opposed to that war, I nonetheless represented the overarching culture of domination that had manufactured reasons to invade a sovereign nation and cause havoc in the lives of its innocent civilians.

But I was also a Muslim, nominally as that may have been, and that meant I had to take sides. “Being a Muslim in these trying times,” I wrote in that commentary, “automatically aligns you with the spiraling hatred sweeping across the Arab world against the West. The logic’s straightforward: you’re brown and you have an Arabic name, therefore you hate the West.”

It was, in retrospect, the beginning of a very dangerous narrative. None of the Muslims I knew hated the West, but somehow, being Muslim was quickly becoming synonymous with being anti-Western.