• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...
    Sign up Log in

Sikh News SAD-BJP Alliance Won Punjab Election


Apr 3, 2005

Poll debacle: Amarinder Singh resigns
NDTV Correspondent

Tuesday, February 27, 2007 (New Delhi ):

Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh has resigned after the Congress party's poor performance in Assembly polls.

Singh submitted his resignation to Governor S F Rodrigues in the Raj Bhawan in Chandigarh. The Governor accepted the resignation and asked Singh to continue till further orders.

Of the 114 seats counted so far, the SAD-BJP combine has won 66 seats, while the Congress has bagged 43 seats.

Akali Dal chief Parkash Singh Badal looks set to become the chief minister for the fourth time. He termed his party's win as a "victory of democracy".

"The people of the state have reposed confidence in us and we will live upto their faith," he said.

Badal, against whom several cases of alleged graft were lodged during Amarinder Singh's tenure as chief minister, said the Akali Dal government will not be vindictive in its approach.

"We will not follow politics of vendetta," the 80-year-old leader said after he won the Lambi assembly constituency.

Wresting control

In other results, Sant Ajit Singh of Shiromani Akali Dal has won the Anandpur Sahib Assembly seat by defeating Congress Minister Romesh Dutt Sharma by 9,500 votes.

Gurbachan Singh Babehely of SAD has wrested the Gurdaspur Assembly seat beating former Delhi Police Commissioner P S Bhinder of Congress by 4,362 votes.

K D Phardwaj of BJP won the Jalandhar North Assembly seat defeating Avtar Henry of Congress.

Joginder Singh Mann of Congress gained the Panjgrain assembly seat. He was up against senior Shiromani Akali Dal leader Gurdev Singh Badal, who lost by over 3500 votes.

Lal Singh of Congress defeated Harmail Singh Tohra of SAD by 8,107 votes to win the Dhakala constituency.

Swarna Ram from BJP beat Congress candidate Joginder Singh Mann by 9650 votes in the Phagwara constituency.

Congress candidate Randeep Singh won the Nabha assembly seat in
Punjab, defeating Narinder Singh of SAD.

Kanwaljit Singh (SAD) won the Banur seat, defeating Rakesh Sharma of Congress. Avtar Singh Brar won the Faridkot seat by 2,500 votes.

Prominent Congress leader Choudhary Jagjit Singh, who was seeking his sixth term, was defeated by SAD nominee Avinash Chander in the Kartarpur assembly segment.

Elections for the 117-member house were held on February 13.

The voting in Beas constituency of Amritsar district was deferred to March 11 due to incidents of violence. (With PTI inputs)<br /><br />
----------------------------------------<br />

----------------------------------------<br />



📌 For all latest updates, follow the Official Sikh Philosophy Network Whatsapp Channel: