• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

Question About Gurus

jsingh03

SPNer
Mar 5, 2011
Santa Barbara
Okay so this might be a really weird question but I am new to Sikhism, I was trying to explain Sikhism to my Muslim friend, she asked me how is it possible for the guru to be a guru when two are alive at the same time? if their lives overlapped how does that work, were their two gurus at one time or what? If that makes any sense to you, please help me out, because I wasn't able to answer that, I didn't even want to try since I don't understand Sikhism that well either.

Kanwaljit.Singh

Writer
SPNer
Jan 29, 2011
Vancouver, Canada
Guru is like Fruit of Knowledge. A mango tree has fruits in summer, which fall to ground and give rise to a new tree. The young tree can be there while the old tree is still alive. In the end both trees have to go, but there will be many more to bear the Fruit. In our case, that Fruit can be tasted through Guru Granth Sahib and sangat of Gursikhs.

And in any case, the seat of the Guru was passed only when the current Guru left this world. Till then the next appointed Guru was not active in his role as Guru and served the current Guru who held the seat. Yet, if new Guru has been appointed (but not took the seat) it meant that he had the Tree of Wisdom in Him which was bearing Fruit of Knowledge. Hehe too philosophical eh?

Gyani Jarnail Singh

Sawa lakh se EK larraoan
Mentor
Writer
SPNer
Jul 4, 2004
KUALA LUMPUR MALAYSIA
The GURU becomes the GURU when the previous Guru decides who is next in line and best qualified.
Guru Nanak ji is AAD GURU..that is He came as Born Guru from Nirankaar (the Creator)
Guru Nanak ji chose Bhai lehnna Ji to be the next GURU.....and Bhai lehnna Ji became GURU ANGAD JI when Guru Nanak ji bowed before him and seated him on his gadee (throne).