• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

New Sikhs And Wearing The 5ks

seekingsikhi

Writer
SPNer
Sep 27, 2017
Houston, TX
Waheguru Ji Ka Khalsa
Waheguru Ji Ki Fateh

Sangat ji,

I'm a college student. As I was coming out of chemistry yesterday I noticed a group of Christians talking to other students. I remembered these people from last year, and that they were attempting to convert people through a combination of fear and falsehood - specifically they started out the conversations with people by asking if they would participate in a research survey. Remembering this I went over to engage with them and see if they were using the same tactics. Fortunately, they were not using the research survey line anymore and we actually wound up having a very nice conversation. I hope the individual I talked to will take my advice on the layout of their pamphlet and how the fear tactics turn more people away then they attract. All of this is leading to my question so bear with me. As we spoke I told her I was a Sikh and she said "Oh I didn't know that," to which all I could reply was "how could you since I'm white and don't wear a turban."

I didn't think much of it at the time. I've only been studying Sikhi for a few months, so going full Amritari in the sense of keeping the K's seemed a bit "childish." Please forgive that choice of word, but english has its limitations and I can't find a better way to express my thoughts on it.

I was listening to a katha on the shaheed of Guru Tegh Bahadur, and how many of the Sikhs at the time refused to step forward. I'm the same. You couldn't tell from a crowd that I'm a Sikh, and I'd like to rectify that; but I have so many questions.