• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

Meeting Jasvir Kaur: Celebrating Womanhood

Admin

SPNer
Jun 1, 2004
SPN
Celebrating International Women's Week

Jasvir Kaur: A Life Well Lived
<small>Interview conducted by Gurmeet Kaur</small>

<!-- <small>March 11th, 2010</small>-->​
She is not a woman of complicated words, just simple actions.

I came across Jasvir Kaur towards the end of 2004, on a trip to Chicago where I was invited to speak at the IFCAPS (Institute for Conflict and Peace Studies) Conference - on the topic of Sikh women and their place in society today.

I had never spoken on a Sikh topic before and was a panthic newbie. There are not very many Sikh women who were then into research and public speaking. The few that were, were unavailable. Somebody pointed to me and my obvious reaction was - "I have never done this before".
My eleven year old challenged me: "You make me stand and speak at the gurdwara. It's your turn. You help me with my speeches; surely you must know something about Sikhi! "

I accepted.

I put in several hours of research, wrote my first paper on Sikhi and there I was, with my little helper to run the slide show.

When I was received by the conference hosts - amritdhari, dastaar-wearing bibis whose panthic resumes were longer than my paper, I was apprehensive to say the least ... I, who couldn't even recite the Japji without making mistakes.

I was wrong. Their gracious acceptance won me over: no judgments whatsoever. We all learned from each other, shared our journeys and passion for the panth. Laughed together, confronted the men who questioned equality and rued over the state of affairs ... sipping cha ... bonding ... till dawn.

When I left Chicago, I knew that our paths would cross again. But had no idea how soon!

As I got back, South-East Asia was devastated by the biggest tragedy of the century, the tsunami.