• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

Male Sikhs Keeping Their Kesh, Pagari And Full Beards

Mar 22, 2006
My name is Sathanuman Singh Khalsa. I was appointed Mukhia Jathedar by Siri Singh Sahib Bhai Sahib Harbhajan Singh Khalsa Yogiji in 1997 while serving at Guru Ram Das Gurdwara Sahib in Massachusetts. I adopted the Sikh path in 1971. I was administered Amrit Pahul in the summer of 1974 by SGPC President Sardar Gurucharan Singh Tora and Sardar Hokum Singh along with three other Amritdhari Khalsa. I am married, have two daughters, four grandchildren. I am a veteran of the USAF from 1978-70. I sent my two daughters to school in Mussoorie (UP) and eventually Amritsar from 1983-1991. I am very blessed to live this Dharmic path. I have lived in the deep south, and for 14 years in "Puritan" New England. I currently live in culturally diverse Portland, Oregon. I have experienced the destruction of the Siri Akal Takhat, the racism and hate that followed the Ayatollah Khomeni's rise to power in 1979. I was in NY on September 11th when the World Trade Center was attacked.
By Guru's Grace my wife and I were able to attend Anandpur Sahib in 1999 for the 300th Anniversary of the Khalsa.
I have made the yatra to Hemkunt Sahib and bowed my head many times at Darbar Sahib in Amritsar.
Having said all that, why do Sikhs born in this beautiful way of life, crumble when the 'heat' is on? Why do the Pagaris come off, the Kesh gets shorn, and the beards are trimmed or shaved?
Why do Sikhs born in the Punjab or India come to America and Canada and try to fit into this land of Maya? Why do they 'anglicize' their beautifu names which came from the Siri Guru Granth Sahib?
In this season of Baisakhi, let us be reminded of the 10th Master's words of strenght and courage. Let us face our egos, our fears and call on Akal Purkh to give us the 'steel' to face the foe.
We must be the "beacon of light".