• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

Learning By Any Means

Ayla

SPNer
Aug 23, 2016
Arizona
I am very new to Sikhi, and i want to learn more. But where do I start? I would like book recommendations, websites, videos ect. I want to learn by any means necessary. I don't know where my path to God will take me, but god willing I will find him and have a relationship and strong faith.

Other questions:
1) Meditating on God, if you are Sikh, can you use other names or characteristics of god, from other religions. Ie: the Jewish people (those who are religious) often refer to God, as Hashem, which roughly translates as "the name". And for whatever reason, I call God by this name. Is this wrong?

2) Where can I get books, movies, 5 Kakars ect? Website please

3) I do not have a Gurdwara near me, and I know in a lot of religions, if you have a "community" of people who worship god together (most times its at a certain building), together their faith in God somehow becomes stronger. So, what can I do, to build my faith in God by myself. I have doubts and even though I know this is normal, many of my christian family members, have what I like to call unshakable faith. How can I attain this on my own.

4) I heard somewhere that Sikhi's don't believe in Miracles. But my definition of Miracles is different. For me, Miracles are things like when a teen or child says no to drugs, and yes to education. Thats a miracle. But, are there other fellow Sikhis who have this same belief in miracles and definition of said miracle?

I hope i am making sense. I am been up since 2 am my time, and can't get back to sleep.

swarn bains

Poet
SPNer
Apr 8, 2012