• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

Fiance Against Kesh

Naij

SPNer
Nov 24, 2017
Hello everyone,
I am new to the Sikh faith. I’ve been on a religious journey my whole life and have been practicing Buddhism for the past 10 years or so. Recently I’ve been yearning for God again (which Buddhism lacks and I liked that for a long time). When I learned more about Sikhism all of its beliefs seem to click with me and I am already seeing so much positive change in my life. I’m still early on the path, but when I brought up kesh with my fiance (a very non practicing catholic) she was extremely against it. I don’t know what to do. If i keep on this path which I intend to do I will feel very distraught about not keeping kesh. Potentially compromising to wear turban and keep head hair while trimming a beard but then what’s the point? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Kind regards

Simranjit

Writer
SPNer
Oct 13, 2017
Barcelona
Naij Ji,

I'm very new to Sikhi myself and I am by no means the best person to give advice on this. But as you have no replies so far I will make a comment. Some men in the Gurudwara I go to (which is the only one in my town) neither keep kesh nor use dastaar out of the Gururdwara. Reasons can vary (according to themselves). One important reason seems to be avoiding problems at their jobs .

I choose not to cover my hair (but when reading the banis or when I am at the Gurudwara) for a few reasons, although I'm letting my hair grow. However I'm at the beginning of this path, so, I might do differently in the future. Maybe :)

Are you going to the local gurudwara? Maybe you will see there some man with short hair.

I'm sorry I cannot be of more help.

Love,

Simranjit

ActsOfGod

Writer
SPNer
Aug 13, 2012
Hello everyone,