• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

Belated Valentines Day

drkhalsa

SPNer
Sep 16, 2004
Article by Bhaji Mehtab Singh (Canada)

Seeing as it is Valentines Day, I thought we could share our stories of falling in love…

Here is mine…

I had heard many stories of those who had fallen love, but never imagined it would happen to me too.

Love was something I never thought I wanted or needed in my life – needless to say however, when the feeling of love came to my door, I had no powers to stop it and had to surrender… my love became my everything.

It was almost like any normal day, awaking to get on with my worldly duties, just as I had been doing for the past twenty years… only today seemed different. I awoke at an earlier hour than normal, feeling the bounce of spring in my step - in the middle of winter.

As I took my shower, the water was warmer than usual and I remember smiling as it cascaded through my hair. I smiled with joy, the birds were singing, the world was turning, and I was alive to see it all…

I left for work earlier too – the day was bright and sunny, I could see the dew over the fields that swept the rear of my street, the rays of the sun pierced through the fluffed clouds and shone brighter than ever. The chilly frost had an amazing warmth to it and the world seemed a great place to be.

It was then, when admiring the perfection of the world I met Him.

He was neither tall, nor small. He was neither as rich as chocolate, nor fair as snow. He had a beauty no words could describe and a warmth cosier than a favourite winter jumper. Even the word “perfect” seemed too simple to describe Him.

Slowly, our love affair began.

We would sit together and talk for hours, I would lay my head in His lap, and talk, forever – often with tear filled eyes of joy and happiness. He would never interrupt. He was never bemused, even if I repeated myself. He would just sit and listen – often for hours.