• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

Kerala's First Sikh Convert- Nintyone-year Old Sardar Bhupinder

kds1980

SPNer
Apr 3, 2005
INDIA
Jan 21, 2007
Re: Here is the Story of Kerala's First Sikh Convert

[/quote]
dear guru ki princess
all religions give this type of justification for their rituals and symbols
if you visit hindu sites they too have justification for their ituals
but these justification hardly convince anyone that symbols that 5ks are important

I understand what you mean.
I will try to attempt to answer your questions from what I think, but I am not a proper sikh, so i will apologise for any mistakes.
I don't really know much about this but I will write why I think we should wear the 5k's;

Kes-God gave us an arm for a reason, he gave us five toes for a reason. This means he gave us hair for a reason. We might not know this reason. You could say it is like a tree. A tree with all its leaves looks beautiful and thrives with energy. A tree without leaves looks 'sad' and lacks energy and can not 'grow towards the sun'

Kanga- I think of the kanga as a 'portable comb'. it really is to keep your hair neat and clean.

Kachera- I found this answer on a thread about kacheras posted by Hai_Bhi_Sach
The following is a general viewpoint of the undergarment known as Kachera.

Kachera is an essentially an undergarment and is made from cotton material. The significance of the Kachera worn by a Sikh is that it is a halfway mark garment between a trouser and a conventional underwear (or Boxer short). It usually runs almost up to the knee level. It is the only most dignified undergarment that is worn by a Sikh or Khalsa in in public without wearing over a trouser or a pyjama etc.