• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

Sikhs In American Army

drkhalsa

SPNer
Sep 16, 2004
In Service of Faith and Nation[font=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Jasvinder Singh (Dhillon) Mon Mar 04[/font] In the 21st century the Sikhs are being discriminated against in joining the US Army.

I am a physician interested in joining the US Army Reserves. A 1999 Army regulation, which requires no facial hair for use of a facial mask in chemical warfare, disallows Sikhs from joining the Army.

This regulation, of which I am yet to receive a copy from the Recruiting Office, disregards our Sikh way of life. It is a shame for the freedom of religion that the most technologically advanced nation in the world excludes the Sikhs from the Army just for a facial mask. I am sure there are masks available which do not require any facial hair removal. In this day and age just for use of a facial mask in chemical warfare the Sikhs should not be disallowed from the US Army.

The turban and uncut hair are part of Sikh religious code of conduct. Sikhs have fought in both WWI & WWII. Turbaned Sikh Bhagat Singh Thind was the first turbaned Sikh in the US Army to fight in WWI. Sikhs are serving in at the present time in the US, British, Canadian and Indian Army. The Sikhs already in service are exempt from this regulation, which only affects the new recruits.

We do respect the US Army rules and regulations, but a regulation, which excludes an individual from serving in the US Army unless they compromise their faith, is not just.

Let us seek the support of our Senators and the President to allow American Sikhs to serve in the US Army.
After reading this I have question for all of you that why sikhs in america havent been able to won this right when i has been done in britain and canada

S|kH

SPNer
Jul 11, 2004
We Are PENN STATE!!
We don't have many turbanned Sikhs as it is...and then how many of them want to join the Army?