Welcome to SPN

Register and Join the most happening forum of Sikh community & intellectuals from around the world.

Question about Gurus

Discussion in 'Questions and Answers' started by jsingh03, Mar 24, 2011.

1. jsingh03

jsingh03
    Expand Collapse
    SPNer

Okay so this might be a really weird question but I am new to Sikhism, I was trying to explain Sikhism to my Muslim friend, she asked me how is it possible for the guru to be a guru when two are alive at the same time? if their lives overlapped how does that work, were their two gurus at one time or what? If that makes any sense to you, please help me out, because I wasn't able to answer that, I didn't even want to try since I don't understand Sikhism that well either.

2. Loading...

Similar Threads Forum Date
    Gurus What do you think about this interesting question about our Sikh Gurus? History of Sikhism Jul 27, 2010
    Question About GGS Questions and Answers Aug 28, 2016
    Marriage And Discrimination Related Questions Blogs Mar 21, 2016
    Sikhi Questioning Faith Sikh Sikhi Sikhism Mar 3, 2016
    Entering into Sikhism: Questions on Reht Maryada. Blogs Oct 22, 2015

3. spnadmin

spnadmin United States
    Expand Collapse
    1947-2014 (Archived)
    SPNer Supporter

Please do not use all caps in an answer. Stay on topic. Thanks.

4. Kanwaljit Singh

Kanwaljit Singh India
    Expand Collapse
    Apache Spark, Scala developer
    Writer SPNer

Guru is like Fruit of Knowledge. A mango tree has fruits in summer, which fall to ground and give rise to a new tree. The young tree can be there while the old tree is still alive. In the end both trees have to go, but there will be many more to bear the Fruit. In our case, that Fruit can be tasted through Guru Granth Sahib and sangat of Gursikhs.