• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

S Asia Pakistan To Get Its First Sikh Province Assembly Member

kds1980

SPNer
Apr 3, 2005
INDIA
Pakistan to gets it first Sikh Province Assembly Member

By Ravinder Singh Robin, Amritsar, Dec 8 : Following the induction of Sikhs into various government bodies in Pakistan, a Sikh living in Pakistan has successfully made an entry into Pakistani Politics.

Kalyan Singh Kalyan, a writer by profession and hailing from the birthplace of Guru Nanak, filed his nomination paper for the reserved seats of minorities for four provincial assemblies and the National Assembly.

The Pakistan People's Party (PPP) is supporting Kalyan Singh for the seat.

Out of the 377 Punjab Assembly seats, 10 seats are reserved for the minorities - six for Christians, two for Hindus one for the Quadian and one for the other five minorities, including Sikhs.

Only a Sikh has filed his nomination among the five minorities, including Sikhs, Buddhist, Kailash, Bahi and Parsi.

Kalyan, who was here for the release of his third book on "Sikh Culture," told ANI "After becoming MPA, my priority would be to facilitate the young generations entry into institutions of higher education and also to provide them jobs in government offices".

"A few members of our community have got inducted in the Pakistan Government services, but there is lot that is yet to be done to get our new generation government employment," added Kalyan.

He said Sikhs were demanding a quota in various sectors, and he would do his effort to convince the Pakistan Government to meet this demand.

After completing his graduation from Nankana Sahib, Kalyan did his Master in Arts from Punjab University, Lahore. He has translated three books into Shahmukhi language. His many articles have been published in Pakistani newspapers.