Welcome to SPN

Register and Join the most happening forum of Sikh community & intellectuals from around the world.

Sign Up Now!
  1.   Become a Supporter    ::   Make a Contribution   
    Target (Recurring Monthly): $200 :: Achieved: $98

Sikh News Order of Nishan-e-Khalsa winners

Discussion in 'Breaking News' started by drkhalsa, Jul 7, 2005.

  1. drkhalsa

    Expand Collapse

    Sep 16, 2004
    Likes Received:
    Order of Nishan-e-Khalsa winners
    Tribune News Service

    ANANDPUR SAHIB, April 14 — To mark the tercentenary of the birth of the Khalsa, the Anandpur Sahib Foundation headed by Shiromani Akali Dal president and Punjab Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal awarded the Order of Nishan-e-Khalsa to 80 most prominent Sikhs of the century.

    The awards were presented at an impressive gathering in the main hall. Among the awardees are some legendary heroes of the freedom struggle, certain top Akali leaders, those Sikh officers who rose to high positions in the government to serve the country and many others who have excelled in the fields of science, medicine, teaching and arts.

    Following are the recipients of the Order of Nishan-e-Khalsa:

    Legendary heroes:

    Bhagat Singh
    Ajit Singh
    Baba Gurdit Singh
    Baba Sohan Singh Bhakna
    Akali leaders:

    Sant Fateh Singh
    Sant Harchand Singh Longowal
    Giani Kartar Singh
    Master Tara Singh
    Religious leader:

    Baba Kharak Singh
    Freedom fighters:

    Udham Singh
    Kartar Singh Sarabha
    Sikh scholars:

    Sewa Singh Thikriwala
    Bhai Randhir Singh
    Baba Ram Singh
    Giani Ditt Singh
    Bhai Gurmukh Singh
    Gurmukh Singh Chabal
    Sant Darshan Singh Pheruman
    War heroes:

    Flying Officer Nirmaljit Singh Sekhon
    Major Gian Singh
    Sub Hon Lt Gurbux Singh
    Lt-Gen J.S. Arora,
    Capt Mohan Singh Kohli
    Former Union Cabinet Secretary:

    S.S. Grewal
    Scientist and administrator:

    Dr M.S. Randhawa
    Financial expert:

    Montek Singh Ahluwalia

    Prithipal Singh Maini
    Daljit Singh
    K.S. Chug
    J.S. Bajaj
    Jagjit Singh Hara
    Bhai Mohan Singh

    Khushwant Singh
    Kartar Singh Duggal
    Bhai Harbans Lal
    Bhai Jodh Singh
    Principal Teja Singh
    Bhai Vir Singh
    Prof Puran Singh
    Legal luminaries:

    Justice Ranjit Singh Sarkaria
    Justice R.S. Narula
    Justice Surjit Singh Sandhawalia
    Justice Sukhdev Singh Kang
    Justice Savinder Singh Sodhi.

    Raunak Singh
    NRI writer:

    Mr Raghbir Singh Bains
  2. Loading...

Since you're here... we have a small favor to ask...

More people are visiting & reading SPN than ever but far fewer are paying to sustain it. Advertising revenues across the online media have fallen fast. So you can see why we need to ask for your help. Donating to SPN's is vote for free speech, for diversity of opinions, for the right of the people to stand up to religious bigotry. Without any affiliation to any organization, this constant struggle takes a lot of hard work to sustain as we entirely depend on the contributions of our esteemed writers/readers. We do it because we believe our perspective matters – because it might well be your perspective, too... Fund our efforts and together we can keep the world informed about the real Sikh Sikhi Sikhism. If everyone who writes or reads our content, who likes it, helps us to pay for it, our future would be much more secure. Every Contribution Matters, Contribute Generously!

    Become a Supporter      ::     Make a Contribution     

Share This Page