• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

General Daily Prayers

Jun 2, 2006
Bathgate,Scotland
As i am new to Sikhism i have many questions to ask, not to sure where to post them though. What are the daily prayers and at what times of the day are they said? Can they be spoken in any language or is it only in Punjab? Does it involve meditation? if so is there a particular favoured method of meditation? Thanks.

drkhalsa

SPNer
Sep 16, 2004
Dear Friend
o
You are welcome !

Dialy prayers in Sikhism could be Anything between 2 to 5 . It depends how much you can understand and relate to

Still the basic two to start with could be Japuji Sahib in the morning and rehrass in the evening

The recommended way of meditation in sikhism is nothing else just to understand , relate and apply the things you learn in Gurbani which inculdes the above two Composition .
It could be read in any language to start with as the emphasis is on the understanding and let the teachings penetrate in your life style.
But eventually many new sikhs start learning Punjabi as want to understand gurus word further.

The favuored method of Meditaion would be listening to the Japuji and also reading and try to understand . YOu can download text form of all these banis starting with Japuji Sahib Here

NITNEM BANIS

And for more detail disscusion on Japuji there are many sources but one we have on this website is also really nice ,worth reading so try it

Japuji Sahib Related threads I ( click here)

And for listening to japuji here is beautiful musical presentation of it Really worth listening

YOU can download it here

MUSICAL JAPUJI SAHIB JI BY CHARDIKALA JATHA( TAKEN FROM MRSIKHNET.COM) ( RIGHT CLICK AND SAVE Target as)

Jatinder Singh

If you are still more interested to go further then here is one other interesting thing to learn Japuji

Self Mastery through Japji