• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

Bhagat Sadhna

vsgrewal48895

Writer
SPNer
Mar 12, 2009
Michigan
Bhagat Sadhna: He was born in 1180 at village Sehwan in Hyderabad Sindh province and was a meat seller by profession. He never killed the animals by himself but purchased those killed by others. His idol was salagram with which he weighed out retail meat for his customers. He became monotheistic and was rapped up in God’s love. His piety and meditation of God elevated him to saintly status. In one of his journeys he was passing through a village where he went to ask for food from a married woman’s house. She fell in love with Sadhna being young and handsome and purposed to elope with him. He refused even if she cut his throat. She understood that her husband has to be killed, so she can go with him. She killed her husband and on refusal to take her with him blamed him for murder. He thought that since God put him in this position, no one will accept his denial. As a punishment his hands were cut off by the order of a judge. He became the object of further persecution and was condemned by Brahmins on a false charge of religious opinion and was arrested by a king, who he ordered to be buried alive. His one hymn/Sabd comes in Raag Bilawal in AGGS, which he composed as the wall closed around him;

ਨ੍ਰਿਪ ਕੰਨਿਆ ਕੇ ਕਾਰਨੈ ਇਕੁ ਭਇਆ ਭੇਖਧਾਰੀ ਕਾਮਾਰਥੀ ਸੁਆਰਥੀ ਵਾ ਕੀ ਪੈਜ ਸਵਾਰੀ ਤਵ ਗੁਨ ਕਹਾ ਜਗਤ ਗੁਰਾ ਜਉ ਕਰਮੁ ਨ ਨਾਸੈ ਸਿੰਘ ਸਰਨ ਕਤ ਜਾਈਐ ਜਉ ਜੰਬੁਕੁ ਗ੍ਰਾਸੈ ਏਕ ਬੂੰਦ ਜਲ ਕਾਰਨੇ ਚਾਤ੍ਰਿਕੁ ਦੁਖੁ ਪਾਵੈ ਪ੍ਰਾਨ ਗਏ ਸਾਗਰੁ ਮਿਲੈ ਫੁਨਿ ਕਾਮਿ ਨ ਆਵੈ ਪ੍ਰਾਨ ਜੁ ਥਾਕੇ ਥਿਰੁ ਨਹੀ ਕੈਸੇ ਬਿਰਮਾਵਉ ਬੂਡਿ ਮੂਏ ਨਉਕਾ ਮਿਲੈ ਕਹੁ ਕਾਹਿ ਚਢਾਵਉ ਮੈ ਨਾਹੀ ਕਛੁ ਹਉ ਨਹੀ ਕਿਛੁ ਆਹਿ ਨ ਮੋਰਾ ਅਉਸਰ ਲਜਾ ਰਾਖਿ ਲੇਹੁ ਸਧਨਾ ਜਨੁ ਤੋਰਾ