• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

Does Humanity Need Religion?

Oct 16, 2009
humans have never existed without religion nor will they in future...............
in the beginning religions are made for bringing peace to soul and finding truth but at the end they are used by people for their motives.......

Astroboy

ਨਾਮ ਤੇਰੇ ਕੀ ਜੋਤਿ ਲਗਾਈ (Previously namjap)
Writer
SPNer
Jul 14, 2007
Turning Yogis into Khalsa Sikhs

Yogi Bhajan in his own words: “Religion has done the worst. What religion has done is to create the mental coercive state of slaves. Religion didn't do something to free somebody. It didn't say: “Go ahead and be!” When I came to the United States and I became a Sikh and all that, religion was forced on us. You know I am very anti-religion and I studied all the religions. I know all the loopholes. And I have studied every religion.
“I said to myself, 'Why we have to be Sikhs? What nonsense is this? Forget it!' Then I looked at myself and said, 'Wait a minute. There is one way to do it: Give them Baanaa (Distinctive and Gracious Attire). Give them Baanee (Songs of Self-counsel and Inspiration). Give them Seva (A Culture of Service). Give them Simran (Remembrance of the Self in Totality). Put them out in the market. And if by self-awareness they can survive, they will automatically become intuitive.'
“I took a very calculated risk. I said, 'No Sikhs. I don't want to have Sikhs. Sikhs for what?' But I said, 'If they can stand under 250 million Americans, totally living differently, dealing differently, not saying “Hello” but saying “Sat Nam”, let us see what happens.'
“Well, some people came out really great. And it's true if you get into yourself in totality, you will have reality.” [42]

Harbhajan Singh Yogi - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

kds1980

SPNer
Apr 3, 2005
INDIA
Religion has lot of positive effect on a person's life.We have seen people mother teresa