• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

Relationship Advice: My Boyfriend's Family Makes Me Feel Inadequate

Star Girl

SPNer
Feb 14, 2011
Hello,

This is the first time I have registered to a forum and have signed up to this forum for advice because I think someone maybe able to give me the advice I need.
I have been with my boyfriend for a year now. He is a doctor, I am a graduate but I am finding it difficult to find a job with the current economy so at the moment have an office based job and am searching for a better positions. We are both in our twenties. And ideally if it was in our hands we would get married within the next 2 years.
My family know we are together, and love him like he is one of us, my mum shows him unconditional love and couldn’t be happier for me. She is secretly hoping I get married in the near future however never puts any pressure on me.

I am very much in love with him, he decided to tell his parents after we had been together for a fair while, they were not pleased that he went behind their back and said he should have approached them sooner about meeting a girl, I did ask him to approach them sooner at the time but he never went ahead with it.