• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

Questions About Sikhism? Newby

sbm401

SPNer
Aug 7, 2006
Hi all

Just a quick intro......I'm a PGCE student (London) and need to do an assignment on a religion I know least about. Have been thinking long and hard, and unfortunately it's Sikhism (you all may gathered by now.....I'm not Sikh).

I've been googling answers and things, and well I'm worried I'll get things wrong and just do an injustice to your religion.

The best people to get help from would be sikhs themselves-----hence why I'm here. So below I have listed some questions/points I need to gather. Your help would be INVALUABLE! Am sorry for being SO ignorant. ::cool:: ::cool:: ::cool:: But here goes.

4 Historical Events within it's Context

Stories: Highlighting characteristics of Sikhism

2 Religious items in the place of worship and its meaning

A religious festival and the concepts behind it

A ritual and its significance

An artefact and its significance

A scriptural text with important
concepts

A prayer which expresses the devotion

Thankx again

SBM :wink:

Dec 8, 2005
Dear SBM

Sar Sri Akal and a nice good evening

I guess if you ask a sikh to give his impression about his own religion the objectivity of study would go away.

I would suggest read about the 10 Sikh Guru who guided the Punjabi community from the jaws of death in Mughal reign. The Sikh you today see is in his comfort time enjoying the fruit of his fore father in British civilization. You will find a lot of deviation in him from his charecterstic self. He is best in crisis situation like in the past fighting Mughals , world wars etc.

It would be better if you collected facts from diffferent perspectives say from the eye of

a) Nations : India , Pakistan , UK , Canada , America , Afghanistan.

b ) Indian states :-- Punjab since Alexander the great invaded India ,Kashmir , Haryana , Himachal pardesh , Maharashtra.