• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

Questions About Sikhi

cherylyoung

SPNer
Aug 4, 2007
I am just beginning to learn about Sikhism. I have read a little bit at websites. I have read an overview of the history of Sikhs. I learned about the panj kakar symbols and the kanda symbol. I learned about the panj dokh (vices) and the panj (weapons) But I am somewhat confused about Simran and Sewa and the three pillars kirat kirani, naam jpo and wand kat shaako

I started a webpage glossary at wikipedia which reaches a lot of people. Any one can add information to it. Most of what I know about Sikism is from Wikipedia or links from it. I hope that there may be at least as many entries as Muslims have.

Sikh terms - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Kirpal Singh

SPNer
Jul 23, 2006
Re: Questions about Sikki

Dear Cheryl welcome.You have wonderful gift of seeking spirituality.Simran & Sewa complement eachother.Sewa ie selfless service which breeds humility, which is a pre-requisite for Simran ie is an active ceaseless rememberance & devotion to our Creator through self surrender which means acceptance of HUKAM which means WILL of GOD in our daily living.Eventually,seeker does everything necessary to sustain life on this earth but not unnecessarily enslaved by it out of fear & desperation but out of love for God to serve the creation inc. humankind with desirelessness.Thus no more KARMA-bad or good as everything will be done as devotion to our MAKER. Peace will prevail by Grace of Waheguru(Wonderous Guru of all) Kirpal Singh

cherylyoung

SPNer
Aug 4, 2007