• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

Please Define "SIKH"

Apr 14, 2006
Dear Friends,

I am a serious student of the Sikh faith, and have just joined this august forum.

I would like to benefit from the wast store of knowledge and wisdom that you all possess.

As is my habbit, I would like to start from the basics.

Please give your definition of "SIKH" in your own words. Your reply could be just a sentence, or run into many chapters. It is entirely upto you.

I expect this to generate a lively exchange, and gradually widen into much larger canvas.

So, please let us make a start. Please participate with all enthusiasm.

Your Sevadar,

Manmohan.

Apr 23, 2006
A sikh is a student.
Muslims are sikhs of Mohamed (Guru), Jews are sikhs of Moses (Guru), Christians are sikhs of Jesus (Guru),
We (me and people of my beleif) are sikhs of our Guru.
We are called "SIKHS" for our whole life.
Means that we are committed to life long learning as a student. Sikh is a student who learns things with every approach, debate, analysis etc.

Somebody else's words about SIKHISM

SIKHISM
Devotion to Learning

The Sikh scholastic tradition begins with the ten masters, the Gurus (1469 – 1708). The first Master, Guru Nanak was a scholar of religions that formed the intellectual discourse of sixteenth century. Combining the Socratic method of teaching with exquisite poetry, Nanak sought to break down barriers of ignorance by making knowledge accessible to all people – not just the privileged few and not just to men.

The succeeding Gurus contributed with their own learning; assisted by the likes of Bhai Gurdas, the first Sikh historian, and the fifth Guru, Arjan, who in 1604 compiled the Sikh Scripture – eventually known as the Guru Granth. The commitment to ideas such as freedom of conscience and expression was highlighted by the ninth Guru, Tegh Bahadur, who laid down his life to protect these freedoms for Sikhs and non-Sikhs alike.