Welcome to SPN

Register and Join the most happening forum of Sikh community & intellectuals from around the world.

Sign Up Now!

MS Flexgrid using in am MDE License Problem

Discussion in 'Information Technology' started by Johann Schwarz, Jul 28, 2006.

  1. Johann Schwarz

    Johann Schwarz
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    I have a 1998 build and distributed MDE. It has some MS Flexgrids in it,because I also have VS Enterprise edition. But now I got informed that a user who changed to MS Access 2003 cannot use some functionallity anymore because the grid does not work anymore. It said that there is no licence to use this grid in this program. Strange, because I had bought enterprise studio and also professional edition of full office package, so I should have had licence to do that. I have read about such a bug together with vb.net 2002 0r vb.net 2003, but it happens using old mde in access 2003. Alsoas an mde it doesn't work.
    Any hints how to get it working again ?

    Johann Schwarz (sen)
     
  2. Loading...


  3. Albert D.Kallal

    Albert D.Kallal
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Well, first of all, you NEVER could use a different version of ms-access
    with a different version of a mde.

    So, right off the bat, the above would be problem that you need to explain
    further.

    Further, you do realize that even going all the way back to BEFORE windows
    95, that all activeX controls have a built in licensing schemes. So, in you
    installed a program from company ABC with a cool grid control, I then I
    can't copy that cool Grid control to another machine (you will receive the
    no license issue).

    So, keep in mind, that often when you simply "copy" a activeX control to
    another machine, unless you use a properly designed installer (and a
    developers edition of the activeX control to BUILD the install), then the
    activeX control will not work on the target machine.

    Now, you not give much information. We need to resolve two issues

    1) The miss-match of the mde, and the version of ms-access on the target
    machine (these have to be the same).

    2) The issue of how the activex Control (Grid) will be installed and
    correctly registered on the target machine...

    So,note that issue #2 is COMPLETE separate issue. You need to ensure you
    have the correct version of ms-access on that target machine to run the mde
    file.....

    Once you ensure that the mde can run, then you need to ensure that the Grid
    control is registered on that target machine, and that the reference in the
    mde will work correctly in that case....

    Note that the a2003 mde, and even the runtime package for a2003 does NOT
    supprot installing of activeX contorls for you (you have to provide you own
    installer in that case). Previoues edtions of hte rutnime DID support
    activeX installing.

    However, the no license issue also might be due to the user still trying to
    run access 97...

    --
    Albert D. Kallal (Access MVP)
    Edmonton, Alberta Canada
    pleaseNOOSpamKallal@msn.com
    http://www.members.shaw.ca/AlbertKallal
     
  4. Johann Schwarz

    Johann Schwarz
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    First of all, I 'm not a prof programmer, I'm only distributing my program
    in our small TV repair station and the users are comanymembers. So maybe you
    thought to a firm which is selling programs and thinking I should know about
    licenses. I don't know anything about. I only know I have regularry bought
    all that things and as one of our technican on his machine installed Office
    2003 he gots in trouble using that program.

    > Well, first of all, you NEVER could use a different version of ms-access
    > with a different version of a mde.


    This is maybe a misunderstood, because I'm a bit difficult in English. The
    MDE is opened by MS ACCESS 2003, but it says that it opend it in Access 2000
    formatted mode. But it could be opened without any error. It only states
    that there is code in it which could maybe insecure, if we dont trust the
    code we can blok it, something like that.( Cannot fully translate that
    exact. )
    But we do not block our code. But other then in former times it seems that
    it doesn't need to be converted. From version 1997 to 2000 it needed to be
    converted.

    > Further, you do realize that even going all the way back to BEFORE windows
    > 95, that all activeX controls have a built in licensing schemes. So, in
    > you
    > installed a program from company ABC with a cool grid control, I then I
    > can't copy that cool Grid control to another machine (you will receive the
    > no license issue).


    It is no Cool grid it is standard Microsoft Flexgrid which is delivered
    with my Visual Studio Enterprise Edition 6.0
    And I have had this all the years and it worked. It worked 1997, it worked
    2000 it is not working since on that specific machine there is Access 2003

    What I dont know is, if the technican has only updated MS Access from 2000
    to 2003 on the same machine where the mde has worked before, or if he has
    installed it on a new machine, that I'll have to find out. ( Because we have
    renewed some machines too. )

    > So, keep in mind, that often when you simply "copy" a activeX control to
    > another machine, unless you use a properly designed installer (and a
    > developers edition of the activeX control to BUILD the install), then the
    > activeX control will not work on the target machine.

    Yes that is my experience from former installations.

    As I never had Access Enterpise edition but only Professional editíon there
    is no installer program, as I have in VB. So I can only copy the MDE.
    My basic problem is, that this is a very big application done in VBA with
    approx 70 forms and 50 reports so it would need me years to do it again in
    VB. But since 2000 all other programs which I wrote are in VB because there
    I have a packageprogram and all the installing issues are easy.

    So on all machines there is also installed a version of this newer program
    which is a full VB solution which also contains Microsoft Flexgrid and
    others. I never have installed any licence to a machine, even did not know
    how to do that. I only copied mde to the machine. What I know from former
    installations is, I normally needed to install my VB program before I
    installed the mde. So all of our users know that, they first need to install
    the VB program and then may install the MDE.
    This has worked everytime.

    > 1) The miss-match of the mde, and the version of ms-access on the target
    > machine (these have to be the same).


    I can install the mdb on the machine, then converting and compiling it and
    then trying again what happens.

    > 2) The issue of how the activex Control (Grid) will be installed and
    > correctly registered on the target machine...



    > So,note that issue #2 is COMPLETE separate issue. You need to ensure you
    > have the correct version of ms-access on that target machine to run the
    > mde
    > file.....


    > Once you ensure that the mde can run,


    But as I told it runs but it said it runs in Access 2000 mode and no
    data-access problems as long as I dont open a form where one of that MS
    Flexgrids is.

    >then you need to ensure that the Grid
    > control is registered on that target machine, and that the reference in
    > the
    > mde will work correctly in that case....


    And how to correctly handle that license issue ? Is there a specific file
    which comes with the ocx, which needs to be installed on the computer. ?

    > Note that the a2003 mde, and even the runtime package for a2003 does NOT
    > supprot installing of activeX contorls for you (you have to provide you
    > own
    > installer in that case). Previoues edtions of hte rutnime DID support
    > activeX installing.


    I see. Thats maybe the basic of the problem. Can MS Access 2003 not use an
    ActiveX which is registered for another VB Application ? Former versions
    obviously could that.

    Thx for your Interest and your data. At first now I'll try to convert mdb on
    this machine then to rebuild the mde there and looking what happens.

    Greetings Johann Schwarz ( sen) (Vienna )
     
  5. Albert D.Kallal

    Albert D.Kallal
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    > It is no Cool grid it is standard Microsoft Flexgrid which is delivered
    > with my Visual Studio Enterprise Edition 6.0


    Excellent, then you should not have a problem using the control.

    > As I never had Access Enterpise edition but only Professional editíon
    > there is no installer program, as I have in VB. So I can only copy the
    > MDE.
    > My basic problem is, that this is a very big application done in VBA with
    > approx 70 forms and 50 reports so it would need me years to do it again in
    > VB. But since 2000 all other programs which I wrote are in VB because
    > there I have a packageprogram and all the installing issues are easy.


    Good. As a side note, I do distribute my applications using the runtime, and
    for this reason I AVOID using activeX
    controls. For example, to display girds, I use the built-in features of
    ms-access. You can see some screen shots of
    what I mean here:

    http://www.members.shaw.ca/AlbertKallal/Articles/Grid.htm


    > So on all machines there is also installed a version of this newer program
    > which is a full VB solution which also contains Microsoft Flexgrid and
    > others.


    Ah, excellent...this is what I would have suggest to do anyway!! In other
    words, I would have suggested to build a small application in VB, and simply
    install that on the target machine. Since you done this already, then we the
    issue of the activeX control is SOLVED....

    So all of our users know that, they first need to install
    > the VB program and then may install the MDE.
    > This has worked everytime.


    Yes...the above is good..and makes sense..and is a good solution.
    > I can install the mdb on the machine, then converting and compiling it and
    > then trying again what happens.


    The above is a very good idea/test..

    > But as I told it runs but it said it runs in Access 2000 mode and no
    > data-access problems as long as I dont open a form where one of that MS
    > Flexgrids is.


    Given the above information, it sounds like broken reference in the
    ms-access application...

    > And how to correctly handle that license issue ? Is there a specific file
    > which comes with the ocx, which needs to be installed on the computer. ?


    You are handling the issue correctly already by installing the VB problem,
    so, this is NOT your problem

    > I see. Thats maybe the basic of the problem. Can MS Access 2003 not use an
    > ActiveX which is registered for another VB Application ? Former versions
    > obviously could that.


    no, the above is NOT your problem, since you install the flex control with
    VB....

    I would try placing the mdb on that computer that does not work.

    The problem your are experiencing is that you can't reliability distribute a
    mde in a2000 to a machine running a2003.

    Remember, a2003 is likely the FIRST version of ms-access that lets you do
    this. (before, you could not use a a2000 mde with access97, or access95...it
    simply DOES NOT work). And, you can't use a a2003 mde with a2000 for
    example. So, this is NOT a new change.

    However, you are trying to use a a2000 mde on a a2003 box. This likely to
    cause problems.

    I would suggest that you place the a2000 mdb on that machine, and then
    convert the file to a2003. You then test to see of the code compiles, and if
    it does, then and only then, you make the 2003 mde....

    I have seen a a2000 mde work with a2003, but, it can be a cause of
    problems....

    --
    Albert D. Kallal (Access MVP)
    Edmonton, Alberta Canada
    pleaseNOOSpamKallal@msn.com
    http://www.members.shaw.ca/AlbertKallal
     
  6. Albert D.Kallal

    Albert D.Kallal
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    I just been corrected by a fellow MVP....

    While you can not use a a2003 mde with a2000,

    You also can't use a a2000 mde with a97.

    However, you cAN GO forward!!!

    That means your a2000 mde SHOULD work with a2003.....

    I would check the references in the mdb, and remove ANY reference that is
    not needed....

    --
    Albert D. Kallal (Access MVP)
    Edmonton, Alberta Canada
    pleaseNOOSpamKallal@msn.com
    http://www.members.shaw.ca/AlbertKallal
     
  7. Johann Schwarz

    Johann Schwarz
    Expand Collapse
    Guest


    > Good. As a side note, I do distribute my applications using the runtime,
    > and
    > for this reason I AVOID using activeX


    I see, Do you know if some not MS installers like Inno-Setup can be used ?
    Inno setup in some cases when distributing VB programs is better to use then
    MS package assistent, but I never tried distributing MDE with it.
    I 'm questioning that because my pension is near and I have to get a
    solution which easily can be done by another fellow. As simpler as better,
    you know. Even installing VB program first and then the MDE seems to do not
    get into their brain. ( Especially if you have some know-best guys in the
    firm )

    > Yes...the above is good..and makes sense..and is a good solution.
    >> I can install the mdb on the machine, then converting and compiling it
    >> and >> then trying again what happens.


    As I know nothing about this licensing stuff, I was frightened that they
    have changed this in a way, that MS Access is checking now if the control
    is licendsed for this MDE and that ActiveX which are installed from another
    VB program cannot be used anymore. But as I got out of your info this is
    not the reason for my troubles.

    > Given the above information, it sounds like broken reference in the
    > ms-access application...


    Hmm.. Good idea. The guy who installed this 2003 office is known in our
    firm as the person who everytime has the troubles. And in many times looking
    behind he has done something unusual before he have had troubles. <biggrin>
    I cannot look into the MDE for checking this but as mentioned I'll copy the
    mdb to this machine and then looking that all references are correct,
    converting to MS Access 2003 version, compiling it and

    > Remember, a2003 is likely the FIRST version of ms-access that lets you do
    > this. (before, you could not use a a2000 mde with access97, or
    > access95...it simply DOES NOT work). And, you can't use a a2003 mde with
    > a2000 for example. So, this is NOT a new change.
    >
    > However, you are trying to use a a2000 mde on a a2003 box. This likely to
    > cause problems.


    Oh yes, this comes to my eyes now, he didn't tell me that he uses 2003 until
    he comes and tells me its not working correctly anymore. Then I looked at
    his machine and told him, hey its 2003 now. And he said, "yes, I have
    personally changed to 2003, but your program is not working anymore as it
    should". I totally have overseen, that there normally was the converting
    issue, because it starts and could read / write data and only screens with
    this Flexgrid shows the license isssue. I really have to check, if he has
    installed the other program too or if he hasn't ( Because he works in TV
    Service, the other program is for Sat dish workers which he normally
    doesn't need, so maybe he didn't install that too... I'll see that tomorrow
    ( monday )

    > I would suggest that you place the a2000 mdb on that machine, and then
    > convert the file to a2003. You then test to see of the code compiles, and
    > if it does, then and only then, you make the 2003 mde....


    Yes sure.

    > I have seen a a2000 mde work with a2003, but, it can be a cause of
    > problems....


    Since a very short time I sometimes have crashes on the other machines and
    looking behind there are records with missing entries, where there should'nt
    be such. Is it possible that in reallity sometimes this 2000mde running on
    a 2003access can have such problems ? This would explain a lot.

    As you are an Access Specialsit obviously: I have some in VB selfbuilt
    controls and some which I did in C++ All of the C++ build I can see in the
    tools of MS access but only very less of the VB- controls I constructed are
    there. Comparing them I have found out, that all C++ .ocx also have a .tlb
    file, and the VB activeX all have none. Some of the VB controls I can find
    with their projectname like myProject.myControl.
    Do you know what are the 'mustHaveIcluded' for getting a VB Userdefined
    control onto this list or how to arrange that it is on this list. In Vb I
    can simple do 'add-control' in the project and then I can use it. Is there
    a similar point in Access ( I haven't really worked anymore with access
    programing since I changed to VB and maybe forgotten a lot in between.)

    Thanks a lot for all info in between, I really cooled down about that
    problem now. ( we say here in Austria: A big stone has fallen away of my
    heart )

    Johann Schwarz(sen)
     

Share This Page