Welcome to SPN

Register and Join the most happening forum of Sikh community & intellectuals from around the world.

Sign Up Now!

"layout has changed" dialog box

Discussion in 'Information Technology' started by michalaw, Jul 28, 2006.

  1. michalaw

    michalaw
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    A team in our office has a problem with their Access database. When more
    than one person is working in a particular table simultaneously (one is
    entering information and one is verifying the data entry), the first person
    to close the table gets a dialog box saying "Another user has changed the
    layout of the table. Do you want to save your changes, or keep the other
    user's changes?" The problem is that both users' changes need to be saved.
    It seems like this should be possible, since they are never working in the
    same record at the same time, just the same table. They are not adding or
    deleting fields, just entering information in existing fields. Can anybody
    explain what's happening here and how to prevent it?
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads Forum Date
    Gurdwara layout Interfaith Dialogues Jul 20, 2004
    IIM Amritsar Mostly Has Youth With Shorn Hair In Its Photos ? Hard Talk Oct 29, 2016
    Literature Has Anyone Read: "The Sikh Religion: Its Gurus, Sacred Writings And Authors" Language, Arts & Culture Oct 22, 2016
    Sikh News International Sikh Award For Man Who Has Been Taking Care Of Abandoned Patients For 20 Breaking News Sep 26, 2016
    Sarvan Minhas Joins Sikh Philosophy Network! New SPN'ers Sep 9, 2016

  3. kabaka

    kabaka
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    If any of your users change the width of a field, change the
    order,...anything then they are changing the layout of the table. But that's
    beside point. You should NEVER be entering data straight into a table. This
    is done through forms. Build a data entry form to accomplish this purpose
    and you won't get this error.




    "michalaw" wrote:

    > A team in our office has a problem with their Access database. When more
    > than one person is working in a particular table simultaneously (one is
    > entering information and one is verifying the data entry), the first person
    > to close the table gets a dialog box saying "Another user has changed the
    > layout of the table. Do you want to save your changes, or keep the other
    > user's changes?" The problem is that both users' changes need to be saved.
    > It seems like this should be possible, since they are never working in the
    > same record at the same time, just the same table. They are not adding or
    > deleting fields, just entering information in existing fields. Can anybody
    > explain what's happening here and how to prevent it?
     
  4. SusanV

    SusanV
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    This is an excellent example of why you should use forms to view / edit
    data, rather than allowing users direct access to the tables. With a form,
    the only time you would see this error is if 2 users tried to change the
    same record concurrently.
    --
    hth,
    SusanV


    "michalaw" <michalaw@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
    news:1F014E6A-A1EA-423C-8B1B-E611E3C903B7@microsoft.com...
    >A team in our office has a problem with their Access database. When more
    > than one person is working in a particular table simultaneously (one is
    > entering information and one is verifying the data entry), the first
    > person
    > to close the table gets a dialog box saying "Another user has changed the
    > layout of the table. Do you want to save your changes, or keep the other
    > user's changes?" The problem is that both users' changes need to be
    > saved.
    > It seems like this should be possible, since they are never working in the
    > same record at the same time, just the same table. They are not adding or
    > deleting fields, just entering information in existing fields. Can
    > anybody
    > explain what's happening here and how to prevent it?
     
  5. John Vinson

    John Vinson
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    On Thu, 15 Jun 2006 06:15:02 -0700, michalaw
    <michalaw@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:

    >A team in our office has a problem with their Access database. When more
    >than one person is working in a particular table simultaneously (one is
    >entering information and one is verifying the data entry), the first person
    >to close the table gets a dialog box saying "Another user has changed the
    >layout of the table. Do you want to save your changes, or keep the other
    >user's changes?" The problem is that both users' changes need to be saved.
    >It seems like this should be possible, since they are never working in the
    >same record at the same time, just the same table. They are not adding or
    >deleting fields, just entering information in existing fields. Can anybody
    >explain what's happening here and how to prevent it?


    In addition to kababka and SusanV's excellent suggestion to use Forms
    rather than table datasheets, I'd really recommend using the Database
    Splitter Wizard to create a split application. Each user should have
    *their own copy* of an Access database containing the Form (or forms),
    linked to a shared backend containing the tables. See

    http://www.granite.ab.ca/access/splitapp/index.htm

    for a description and explanation.

    John W. Vinson[MVP]
     

Share This Page