• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

History Of Sikhism

Luke Lim

SPNer
Feb 29, 2016
Dear all,

I am new to Sikhism.
In order to learn and understand Sikhism, would I have to first understand the prevalent religious beliefs of Hinduism and Islam in India at the time of Guru Nanak before I continue learning Sikhism.

Please kindly advise me.

Harry Haller

Panga Master
SPNer
Jan 31, 2011
Dear all,

I am new to Sikhism.
In order to learn and understand Sikhism, would I have to first understand the prevalent religious beliefs of Hinduism and Islam in India at the time of Guru Nanak before I continue learning Sikhism.

Please kindly advise me.

I do not believe that would be of any benefit, just dive in, Sikhism is a non superstitious, non ritualistic, pragmatic religion

Ishna

Writer
SPNer
May 9, 2006
Dear all,

I am new to Sikhism.

Please kindly advise me.

It helps to know a little bit, but you can pick it up as you go along. Sikhi is its own fully fledged way of life. :)

Welcome to SPN!

ActsOfGod

Writer
SPNer
Aug 13, 2012
Dear all,

I am new to Sikhism.

Please kindly advise me.

It depends on what your reason is. Are you doing research for a paper, or are you inquiring because you're looking for a spiritual path to follow?

[AoG]

Luke Lim

SPNer
Feb 29, 2016
Thank you all for your kind replies.
I only have a brief understanding of Hinduism & Islam and will try to pick up as much as I go along.
I am inquiring because I am looking for a spiritual path to follow.
I have read the books, The Wisdom of Sikhism and Knowing Guru Nanak.
I agreed with the beliefs of Sikhism and would like to find out more about Sikhism.

Apr 11, 2007