• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

Go With Flow Or Not?

simranbir

SPNer
May 15, 2012
waheguru g ka khalsa
wahegru g ki fateh g

gurbani says to accept the will of god. so it means we should go with flow, whatever life serves we should accept it as it is and never complains about it.
m really confused at this point that when should we struggle n when not.

as in london m unemployed at the moment.
my husband dont want me to work but i want to but dont have any skill at hand.
i cant force him to give me my fees of college. and he even dont let me go out to find out any labour work.
really really confused is this is the willl of god that i should not work n be at home as a housewife whole life.

any suggestions please...........

Harry Haller

Panga Master
SPNer
Jan 31, 2011
I am a mere novice, so my opinion is not with any authority, however, I disagree that as Sikhs we should just sit and accept the will of God. My understanding is that Hukam, the order of God and I mean that as in the order of things, rather than a direct command, requires us to try our hardest to better ourselves, as people, as human beings, as sons, as mothers, as wives, etc. I also believe that if we live life by giving our best, then the best possible outcome will be given to us. So I wish to buy a small farm one day and grow crops and raise animals, and I work hard towards that, if my hard work is rewarded with this wish, then great, if not, then that is ok too, I gave it my best but it was not to be, but the answer, for me anyway, is not to sit around and wait for Guru's kirpa to kick in, I have to work for it, my hardest, I have to earn it.