• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

Can Sikhs Say Grace?

Odion

SPNer
Aug 21, 2009
Sat Nam! :)

I don't know if this is the correct area, since I'm still new to navigating this site, let alone writing topics on here. :)

As the thread title says: Can Sikhs say grace over (already cooked) food, or does this turn the food that is to be eaten into kutha?

For example, let's say a Sikhi goes to visit his aunt or sister in law or something, and she is a devout Christian. She makes some food (I don't know what to use as an example, spaghetti bolognese, or bangers and mash), and asks the Sikhi to say grace. Can s/he, or does that make all of the food kutha, especially the meat?

If a Sikhi is not permitted to do this, would they be allowed to sit in silence and listen to another say grace, and then eat the food?

Is kutha meat only when an animal has been killed in a ritualistic manner, or does it extend to something more?

Sorry to ask such a strange question, but it's something I'm curious of. :)

:newhere:

spnadmin

1947-2014 (Archived)
SPNer
Jun 17, 2004
Odion ji

This problem comes up in many different ways -- not just saying grace at a Christian home.

Here is how I handle it. If someone else says Grace I sit quietly without bowing my head in respect for their hospitality. I do not participate in the prayer but am silent. If I am asked to say a prayer -- which rarely happens because people know I am a Sikh -- I say a prayer of thanks to the Satguru whose hukam has made friends and hospitality possible in the face of hardship and sacrifice.