• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

Are All Holy Writings Chains To Hold The Ignorant?

Dec 27, 2004
Hertfordshire England
Happy New Year to all lovers of peace.

My Dear friends may I ask a respectful question of all Sikh’s. I trust that you will all understand that because I have very little knowledge of the Sikh faith and way of life that some of the terminology I use and the questions I ask may appear provocative. But let me assure you all, I ask these in the spirit of truth seeking and not confrontation.

How will it ever be possible to unite mankind? Each religious group by nature of the individuals faith in their beliefs are trapped by religious writings that have been handed down throughout the centuries, to the point that each religion will defend an entrenched position of, in the most cases blind faith in the holiness of their religious writings!

Each religion feels free to criticise the others Holy writings, and the more vocal the religion the louder they shout that all the others are fools to believe their traditions and prophets.

So we have the spectre of perpetual religious hate fuelled by an intractable and often irrational faith in words that were written for long past generations.

From what I have seen on this website Sikhs are some of the most reasonable and approachable people one could discuss religion with, however even with your natural tendency to look for the avenue of understanding, you too I believe loose yourselves in debates over an exact understanding of this or that and in doing so loose sight of spirit of the overall wisdom within any writings.

(I refer to one discussion of whether a Guru went to Mecca or not and which way his feet were facing!!!)