• Welcome to all New Sikh Philosophy Network Forums!
    Explore Sikh Sikhi Sikhism...

A Good Man

Admin

SPNer
Jun 1, 2004
SPN
A Good Man
by T. SHER SINGH

I need to get something off my chest.

I've been carrying it for for 14 years now ... not as a burden, but as a promise I gave him to keep it a secret.

But I think it's time to talk about it ... and I hope he will not mind.

It was in 1996, if I remember correctly.

I had asked a whole motley of young lawyers - all Sikh - from the greater Toronto area to join me for dinner here in this sleepy town of Guelph (Ontario, Canada) one summer evening.

‘Young' not in age, but young in the number of years they had been practicing law, at least in Canada.

Back in 1985, when I was called to the Bar, I was alarmed to find that I was the first and only Sikh - certainly, the first turbaned Sikh - lawyer in the country. Our kids were then mostly drawn to medicine, engineering or business.

Mercifully, that had begun to change as the millennium approached its ‘000' crossroads, and more and more had started to join law schools. As well, law societies - lawyers' governing bodies, really - had begun to allow lawyers from India to practice here after a period of retraining in Canada.

So, I wasn't surprised that over a dozen of my colleagues turned up that evening, albeit in response to a cryptic message that I had something important to discuss with them.

I did.

I had discovered only a few months earlier, while researching an article I was penning on the history of Sikh-Canadians, that 1897 was the actual year the first group of Sikhs had travelled across Canada - at the invitation of the Canadian government - and a few of those may have been the very first ones to settle down here and make this land their home!

The icing on the cake was that I had also unearthed a name of an actual person from that group - and a portrait of him as well.